India Football
India States | India Religions | India Cricket | India Soccer | India Hockey | India Archery | India Tennis | Indian Monuments
Indian Festivals | India History Timeline | Indian Heroes | Indian Wild Life | Live TV Streaming | Bollywood Film Stars
Tamil Film Stars | Malayalam Film Stars | Who is who Kerala

All India Football Federation (AIFF)

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) is the amateur organisation which manages the game of football in India. It administers the running of the national team and also controls the National Football League, India's premier domestic club competition, in addition to various other competitions.
The AIFF was founded in 1937, and gained FIFA affiliation in the year 1948, after India's independence in 1947. India was one of the founder members of the Asian Football Confederation when it was set up in 1954.


Before the AIFF
India lacked a structured national football organisation before the foundation of the AIFF, with only a few provincial associations administering the sport regionally. Indian Football Association (IFA), the association governing football in the state of West Bengal, was recognised as the sport's de-facto governing body. The IFA at this time was affiliated to The FA, the football association of England, and hence, all foreign tours were organised by the former.

In 1935 the IFA organised a conference of the representatives of the football associations of Assam, Bihar, UP, Delhi, Mysore and Bombay at Darbhanga, with an aim to found a national body for the running of the sport. However, no unanimously acceptable decision was arrived at. Though the IFA delegates (late) SN Banerjee and (late) Pankaj Gupta, as well as the Maharaja of Santosh (now in Bangladesh), walked out in protest, the remaining delegates formed a body, naming it All India Football Association. The Raja Bahadur of Darbhanga was appointed Secretary.
In 1937, a meeting was held at Delhi and there was an attempt at discussion with the protesting group. A resolution was finally reached, the All India Football Association was liquidated, and the All India Football Federation came into being, with one representative from each affiliated association and two each from the IFA and the Army Sports Control Board. Brigadier VHB Mejendine was elected the first President, Major A.C. Wilson the first Honorary Secretary and Pankaj Gupta the first Treasurer., 2003-2005. All Rights Reserved.
Contact for comments and suggestions.
Sania Mirza Tennis Bollywood actors and actresses All about Cartoons & Comics Buy & Sell Stockphotographs from around the World New York Visit Tourism Travel

India India Cricket India Bollywood