India Football
India States | India Religions | India Cricket | India Soccer | India Hockey | India Archery | India Tennis | Indian Monuments
Indian Festivals | India History Timeline | Indian Heroes | Indian Wild Life | Live TV Streaming | Bollywood Film Stars
Tamil Film Stars | Malayalam Film Stars | Who is who Kerala

National Football League

The Indian National Football League (NFL) is a football league system in India run by the All India Football Federation.
The NFL has 2 divisions - the Premier Division (created in the 1996/1997 season) and the Second Division (created in the 1997/1998 season). Each year there is relegation and promotion of 2 teams.

10th National Football League

The 10th National Football League (Premier Division) will be held from January 10 through May 14. The league will be sponsored by ONGC for the 2005/2006 season. The champions will receive the ONGC Cup.
The first phase of the 10th NFL Premier Division commences on February 7, to allow players to join the Indian national squad camp in preparation for Asian Cup 2007 qualifying, in which India will play their first match against Japan. The second phase of the 10th NFL Premier Division will begin on March 12. This year's contenders for the championship look to be Mahindra United, East Bengal Club, as well as newly promoted Mohammedan Sporting. Teams with a long shot at the title look to be Fransa-Pax and Air India.
The NFL 2nd Division will begin February 27, and will be held in Jamshedpur and Bangalore. The NFL 2nd Division will consist of 12 teams, divided into two groups. Group A matches will be played in Jamshedpur, and Group B matches will be held in Bangalore. After the first phase of the 2nd Division, which ends on March 14, the second phase will begin on April 25. It will include the top three teams from Group A and Group B, with a total of six teams. The top two teams will be promoted to the 11th NFL Premier Division.

Current Clubs 2005/2006

Premier Division
  • Dempo Sports Club
  • Fransa-Pax Football Club*
  • Salgaocar Sports Club
  • Sporting Clube de Goa
  • JCT Mills Football Club
  • East Bengal Club
  • Mohun Bagan Athletic Club
  • Mohammedan Sporting Club
  • Mahindra United
  • Air India
Fransa-Pax abandoned league after nine games

Mahindra United ONGC CUP Winners
With the conclusion of the 10th NFL Premier Division, Mahindra United have won their first ever National League title. East Bengal were the runners up. In the Super Cup, played in Mumbai, East Bengal came out on top over Mahindra, 2-1.

Second Division Group A (Jamshedpur)
  • Churchill Brothers Sports Club
  • State Bank of Travancore
  • Punjab Police
  • EverReady SA
  • Tata Football Academy
  • Simla Youngs
Group B (Bangalore)
  • Vasco Sports Club
  • Tollygunge Agragami
  • Hindustan Aeronautics Limited Sports Club
  • Indian Bank
  • Army XI
  • Assam Rifles
After the first phase of the NFL Second Division which ended on March 14, the six teams were decided for the final round which will begin in Bangalore on April 25, and carry on till mid May. The top two teams in the final round will be promoted to next years 11th NFL Premier Division.

Final Round (Bangalore)
  • Churchill Brothers Sports Club*
  • State Bank of Travancore
  • Tata Football Academy*
  • Vasco Sports Club
  • Hindustan Aeronautics Limited Sports Club
  • Army X1
After the final round of the NFL Second division, which took place in Bangalore, Churchill Brothers Sports Club and Tata Football Academy qualified for the 11th NFL Premier Division next year. Tata FA's qualification will be the first time an academy has qualified for the Premier Division and it will also be the first time a team from Jharkhand has qualified., 2003-2005. All Rights Reserved.
Contact for comments and suggestions.
Sania Mirza Tennis Bollywood actors and actresses All about Cartoons & Comics Buy & Sell Stockphotographs from around the World New York Visit Tourism Travel

India India Cricket India Bollywood