India Football
India States | India Religions | India Cricket | India Soccer | India Hockey | India Archery | India Tennis | Indian Monuments
Indian Festivals | India History Timeline | Indian Heroes | Indian Wild Life | Live TV Streaming | Bollywood Film Stars
Tamil Film Stars | Malayalam Film Stars | Who is who Kerala

Durand Cup

Durand Cup is the oldest football tournament in India and 3rd oldest football tournament in the world, only the English FA-Cup and the Scottish FA-Cup are older than it.
The Durand Football Tournament was started by Sir Mortimer Durand at Shimla in 1888. In 1940 the venue was shifted to New Delhi. Since Independence Mohun Bagan (16x) and East Bengal (15x) have split 31 cup victories between them. After the eclipse of the high profile teams from Hyderabad, the Durand Cup, with rare exceptions since 1970, has been won mostly by teams from Calcutta (Mohun Bagan and East Bengal) or Punjab (Border Security Force & JCT Mills). In 1997 FC Kochin from the south won, in 1998 and 2002 for the first time a team from Mumbai with Mahindra United won the title twice, while in 1999 and 2003 Goan side Salgaocar won the trophy twice but the new Millennium's first title was once again won by Mohun Bagan.
Royal Scots Fusiliers won the inaugural Durand cup in 1888 at Simla, who defeated Highland Light Infantry with score 2-1., 2003-2005. All Rights Reserved.
Contact for comments and suggestions.
Sania Mirza Tennis Bollywood actors and actresses All about Cartoons & Comics Buy & Sell Stockphotographs from around the World New York Visit Tourism Travel

India India Cricket India Bollywood