India Hockey

Indian National Hockey Team

The Indian hockey team is the national field hockey team of India. The team was formed in 1928, when the Indian Hockey Federation was formed in Gwalior and was the first non-European team to be a part of the International Hockey Federation. The team was the first ever international Indian team to set foot in Australia and New Zealand (1926). In 1928, the team won their first Olympic gold medal.
From 1928 to 1956, India remained unbeaten in the Olympics garnering six gold medals in a row. Today the Indian team has won a total of eight gold, one silver and two bronze medals in Olympics.
In recent times, the Indian team, while possessing some of finest stick-wielders in the world, have had a tendency to choke on the big occasions. At tournaments like the 2004 Olympics, 2005 Men's Champions Trophy (which was on home soil) and the 2006 Men's Hockey World Cup the team has shown an inability to gel and has finished in positions well below their talent (in a similar vein to the Spanish national football team).
The Indian team is so influential in field hockey's history that the basic dribble skill nowadays is named Indian dribble after 1956 Olympics., 2003-2005. All Rights Reserved.
Contact for comments and suggestions.
Sania Mirza Tennis Bollywood actors and actresses All about Cartoons & Comics Buy & Sell Stockphotographs from around the World fifa world cup 2006

India India Cricket India Bollywood