India Cricket | India Soccer | India Hockey | India Archery | India Tennis | Indian Monuments | Indian Festivals
India History Timeline | Indian Heroes | Indian Wild Life | Live TV Streaming | Bollywood Film Stars | Tamil Film Stars
Malayalam Film Stars | Who is who Kerala

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh State | Uttar Pradesh Tourism & Weather | Uttar Pradesh Language | Uttar Pradesh Film | Uttar Pradesh News

Uttar Pradesh Districts

Uttar Pradesh state, India, is made up of 70 administrative districts, which are grouped into 17 divisions.

Agra Division
Agra District, Aligarh District, Etah District, Firozabad District, Mainpuri District, Mahamaya Nagar District (Hathras District), Mathura District

Allahabad Division
Allahabad District, Kaushambi District, Fatehpur District, Pratapgarh District, Azamgarh Division, Azamgarh District, Ballia District, Mau District

Bareilly Division
Bareilly District, Badaun District, Pilibhit District, Shahjahanpur District

Basti Division
Basti District, Siddharthnagar District, Sant Kabir Nagar District

Chitrakoot Division
Banda District, Chitrakoot District, Hamirpur District, Mahoba District,

Devipatan Division
Gonda District, Bahraich District, Shravasti District, Balrampur District

Faizabad Division
Faizabad District, Ambedkar Nagar District, Barabanki District, Sultanpur District

Gorakhpur Division
Gorakhpur District, Kushinagar District (Padrauna District), Devaria District, Maharajganj District

Jhansi Division
Jalaun District, Jhansi District, Lalitpur District

Kanpur Division
Kanpur Nagar District, Kanpur Dehat District (Akbarpur District), Etawah District, Farrukhabad District, Kannauj District, Auraiya District

Lucknow Division
Lucknow District, Hardoi District, Lakhimpur Kheri District, Raebareli District, Sitapur District, Unnao District

Meerut Division
Meerut District, Bulandshahr District, Gautam Buddha Nagar District, Ghaziabad District, Bagpat District

Mirzapur Division
Mirzapur District, Sant Ravidas Nagar District (Bhadohi District), Sonbhadra District

Moradabad Division
Moradabad District, Bijnor District, Rampur District, Jyotiba Phule Nagar District,

Saharanpur Division
Saharanpur District, Muzaffarnagar District

Varanasi Division
Varanasi District, Chandauli District, Ghazipur District, Jaunpur District

Uttar Pradesh Economy

Uttar Pradesh's gross state domestic product for 2004 is estimated at $75 billion in current prices. After partition, the new Uttar Pradesh state produces about 92% of the output of the old Uttar Pradesh state.
Uttar Pradesh is sometimes credited as a mini-India in honour of its vast diversity. It is home to 78% of national livestock population. The state produces:

Uttar Pradesh History

Uttar Pradesh plays an extremely important role in the history and growth of Hinduism, and in the history of ancient India. Indeed, the region has been vital to the power and stability of all of India's empires and kingdoms, of Hindus, Muslims and Europeans.
It was here that the most ancient portions of Rig Veda were composed on the banks of the Jahnavi and Yamuna. The other three holy Vedas were also said to have been composed on the banks of the rivers Ganga, Yamuna and others. The region came to be known as Aryavarta (Land of the Aryans), the earliest Aryan state in India.[1]
Lord Rama, the seventh Avatara of Vishnu, is the most popular Hindu God-King, and the legend of the Ramayana, the world's oldest and largest epic emanates from His life, and his reign as King of Bharat from Kosala, from the city of Ayodhya.
The ancient Hindu kingdom of Kosala in Ayodhya, where Lord Rama of the Ramayana reigned was located in the modern day state. The holiest Hindu cities of Varanasi, Ayodhya, Mathura, Haridwar and Allahabad, by the holiest rivers - Ganga and Yamuna are all located in the state. The state hosts a Kumbha Mela every 12 years, where over 10 million Hindus congregate - the largest gathering of human beings in the world.
Lord Krishna, the revered eighth Avatara of Vishnu, was born in the city of Mathura. He leads the Pandava brothers in the holy war of the Mahabharata over the ancient kingdom of Hastinapura, rumored to have existed on the banks of the Ganga or Yamuna. The ancient capital city of Indraprastha once stood close to the are where the modern national capital of Delhi today stands.
The U.P.'s political importance was diminished with the rise of Magadha and the Mauryan Empire and the Gupta Dynasty, but it soon became an important region to the Muslim invaders of India, who subjugated the region.
Agra and Fatehpur Sikri were also important as the capital city of Akbar, the great Mughal Emperor of India. The city of Lucknow was founded in the 18th century by the Muslim rulers of the province.
The U.P. was especially important in modern Indian history as a hotbed of the Indian Independence Movement, and the city of Allahabad was home to prominent nationalists such as Motilal Nehru, Purushottam Das Tandon, Professor Rajendra Singh a.k.a Rajju Bhaiyya (After Kakori Kaand the freedom fighters came and stayed at his house in Prayaag) and Lal Bahadur Shastri. Allahabad was also home to a record five Prime Ministers of India: Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Vishwanath Pratap Singh and Rajiv Gandhi.
Uttar Pradesh covers the area of the former princely state of Awadh (Oudh) and the British Province of Agra. The Province of Agra was originally the western-most British possession, after they expanded from Bengal, and thus was known as the North-West Province. The North-West Province was renamed the Province of Agra, and merged in 1858 with the Province of Oudh to form the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh, known after 1902 as the United Provinces. Two princely states, Rampur and Tehri, were under the authority of the provincial governor. With the advent of Indian independence, the United Provinces was renamed "Uttar Pradesh," or "northern province", by Govind Ballabh Pant, the first chief minister. This preserved the commonly used abbreviation U.P. In 2000, the northwestern districts of Uttar Pradesh became the new state of Uttaranchal.

Back to top
  Facts about Uttar Pradesh
©, 2003-2005. All Rights Reserved.
Contact for comments and suggestions.
Sania Mirza Tennis Bollywood actors and actresses All about Cartoons & Comics Buy & Sell Stockphotographs from around the World New York Visit Tourism Travel

India India Cricket India Bollywood