India Cricket | India Soccer | India Hockey | India Archery | India Tennis | Indian Monuments | Indian Festivals
India History Timeline | Indian Heroes | Indian Wild Life | Live TV Streaming | Bollywood Film Stars | Tamil Film Stars
Malayalam Film Stars | Who is who Kerala


Karnataka State | Karnataka Tourism & Weather | Karnataka Language | Karnataka Film | Karnataka News

Karnataka Language

Language was the so called basis for the formation of the Indian states after independence and the present day Karnataka was formed by unifying minority Kannada speaking regions from the many districts of erstwhile Madras State (present day Tamil Nadu), erstwhile Bombay presidency (present day Maharashtra) and the erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad (present day Andhra Pradesh) to the former Kingdom of Mysore, known as the Mysore State (post independence) around the years 1950-1957. In 1973, the Mysore State was officially christened as Karnataka. There are a total of 27 districts. The languages of Karnataka are Kannada, Urdu, Kodava Takk, Tulu and Sankethi. Kannada is the official language of the state. Other languages also spoken by linguistic minorities are Marathi, Konkani, Tamil, Telugu, Hindi and Malayalam

Back to top
  Facts about Karnataka
©, 2003-2005. All Rights Reserved.
Contact for comments and suggestions.
Sania Mirza Tennis Bollywood actors and actresses All about Cartoons & Comics Buy & Sell Stockphotographs from around the World New York Visit Tourism Travel

India India Cricket India Bollywood